About the Society

We are an established group dedicated to conserving, enhancing and developing the character of the historic town of Stowmarket for the benefit of residents, visitors and future generations.

We promote and encourage high standards of architecture and planning, monitoring and commenting upon building and development plans affecting thetown.

We liaise with Mid Suffolk District Council, Stowmarket Town Council and Stowmarket Town Forum in the pursuit of civic welfare.

We strive to stimulate public interest in the history, character, appearance and future of the town.

We regularly publish a newsletter providing a link between members and the Society’s Committee. This also provides information on proposed changes within the town.

Our activities depend on our members. New members are encouraged and welcomed because enhanced support enhances the influence of the society.

Our officers and committee are appointed at the Annual General Meeting which is usually held in April every year, the committee meets approximately 5-6 times every year.

The current composition of the committee is:

Society Officers:

Chairman           Mike Smith        Hope Cottage, Half Moon Street, Rattlesden,  IP30 0RH, 01449 736728

Treasurer            John Gardiner    4 River Gardens, Stowmarket, IP14 1BF, 01449 770483

Secretary            Jon Pattle           19 Bond Street, Stowmarket, IP14 1HR, 01449 674116

Committee members:

Barry Salmon, Marilyn Finbow, Sally Taylor, Tony Taylor